246,91 kr
FRI frakt: Onsdag, 28 jul
I lager.
Fraktas från och säljs av Amazon.
Vänd till baksida Vänd till framsidan
Lyssna Spelar ... Pausade   Du lyssnar på ett urval av Audible audio edition.
Läs mer

The Giver of Stars Inbunden – 8 Oktober 2019

4,6 av 5 stjärnor 13 524 betyg

Pris
Nytt från Används från
Inbunden
246,91 kr
246,91 kr

Förbättra ditt köp

Köps ofta tillsammans

  • The Giver of Stars
  • +
  • Silver Bay
  • +
  • Night Music: The Sunday Times bestseller full of warmth and heart
Totalt pris:
Lägg till dessa artiklar i din kundvagn för att se vårt pris.
En del av dessa föremål levereras tidigare än de andra.
Välj artikel att köpa tillsammans.

Produktbeskrivning

Recension

Praise for The Giver of Stars

"A captivating tale of love, friendship, and self-actualization."
--People

"The Giver of Stars is a richly rewarding exploration of the depths of friendship, good men willing to stand up to bad and adult love. Moyes celebrates the power of reading in a terrific book that only reinforces that message."
--USA Today

"Though she made her mark writing contemporary romance, Moyes proves just as adept at historical fiction. . . . The Giver of Stars is a celebration of love, but also of reading, of knowledge, of female friendship, of the beauty of our most rural corners, and our enduring American grit: the kind of true grit that can be found in the hills of Kentucky and on the pages of this inspiring book."
--The Washington Post

"Moyes paints an engrossing picture of life in rural America, and it's easy to root for the enterprising librarians."
--The New York Times Book Review

"Bestselling author Jojo Moyes has a unique way of using her prose to make her readers feel great emotions - love, passion, sadness, and grief - and her latest novel, The Giver of Stars- does not disappoint in that respect."
--Parade

"Moyes stays true to her narrative and takes full advantage of the sense of place she gained from repeated trips to the area . . . riveting. A stirring novel sure to please Moyes's many fans."
--Star Tribune

"An epic journey of friendship, danger, and literacy. . . an ideal read."
--theSkimm

"With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn't want it to end!"
--Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies

"[A] dramatic, sweeping story. . . As well as creating wonderful strong characters, Jojo Moyes has an incredible eye for historical detail -- I really felt as though I was riding over those Kentucky mountains with those women.
--Sophie Kinsella for Bustle

"Timeless, Jojo Moyes's greatest work yet, and one of the most exquisitely-written--and absolutely compulsory--novels about women ever told."
--Lisa Taddeo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Three Women

"Epic in scope and fiercely feminist. . . an unforgettable story."
--POPSUGAR

"Compelling. . . It's an epic feminist adventure that candidly paints a community's soul-searching with great humor, heartache, honesty, and love."
--The Christian Science Monitor

"Inspired by the history of the actual Pack Horse Librarians, Moyes depicts the courage and resourcefulness of these women in loving detail. The Giver of Stars is a tribute not just to the brave women who brought the light of knowledge in dark times, but also to the rejuvenating bond of women's friendship."
--The Associated Press

"Moyes brings an often forgotten slice of history to life. . . the true power of the story is in the bonds between the women of the library. . . A love letter to the power of books and friendship."
--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[An] homage to the power of reading and the strength of community. . . A must-read for women's fiction."
--Booklist (starred review)

"An adventure story grounded in female competence and mutual support, and an obvious affection for the popular literature of the early twentieth century, give this Depression-era novel plenty of appeal. . . . There's plenty of drama, but the reader's lasting impression is one of love."
--Publishers Weekly

"Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library's fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall's Christy."
--Library Journal (starred review)

Om författaren

Jojo Moyes is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Giver of Stars, Still Me, Paris for One and Other Stories, After You, One Plus One, The Girl You Left Behind, Me Before You, The Last Letter from Your Lover, The Horse Dancer, Silver Bay, The Ship of Brides, and The Peacock Emporium. The Last letter From Your Lover will be released as a major motion picture by Netflix in July. She lives with her husband and three children in Essex, England.

Produktinformation

  • Utgivare ‏ : ‎ Pamela Dorman Books (8 Oktober 2019)
  • Språk ‏ : ‎ Engelska
  • Inbunden ‏ : ‎ 400 sidor
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0399562486
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0399562488
  • Kundrecensioner:
    4,6 av 5 stjärnor 13 524 betyg

Kundrecensioner

4,6 av 5 stjärnor
4,6 av 5
13 524 övergripande betyg
Hur beräknas betyg?

Inga kundrecensioner från Sverige

Det finns 0 recensioner och 0 kundbetyg från Sverige

Populäraste recensionerna från andra länder

Sarah Faichney
5,0 av 5 stjärnor There are insufficient stars in the Universe to give this a high enough rating.
Granskad i Storbritannien den 3 oktober 2019
Verifierat köp
143 människor tyckte detta var till hjälp
Rapportera missbruk
Beka92
5,0 av 5 stjärnor Captivating
Granskad i Storbritannien den 14 oktober 2019
Verifierat köp
Kundbild
5,0 av 5 stjärnor Captivating
Granskad i Storbritannien den 14 oktober 2019
Alice married to get away from her life in England, only to find herself in a cold relationship in America far from everything that she knows and understands, until one day she volunteers to join the newly established 'travelling library'. Here she finds the oddballs of her small town and they form an unlikely friendship group; their library opens a new world and a appreciation of reading to the children of the town and the people living in the surrounding area.
The book explores a host of subjects; (love and finding your "tribe" through genuine friendship.
It also highlights how reading affects people in a positive way: giving hope, comfort and the power to make informed decisions) it was a privilege to read.
- my full review is on goodreads
Bilder i den här recensionen
Kundbild Kundbild
KundbildKundbild
85 människor tyckte detta var till hjälp
Rapportera missbruk
liv2write
3,0 av 5 stjärnor ROMANCE NOVEL OUT OF ITS ELEMENT
Granskad i USA den 16 oktober 2019
Verifierat köp
700 människor tyckte detta var till hjälp
Rapportera missbruk
John Price
1,0 av 5 stjärnor This is not a new story
Granskad i Storbritannien den 27 juli 2020
Verifierat köp
Kundbild
1,0 av 5 stjärnor This is not a new story
Granskad i Storbritannien den 27 juli 2020
I bought this book for my wife as she loves Jojo Moyes books. It was advertised as her brand new book being released on 23rd July. Imagine the disappointment when she discovered it is the same book I bought her at Christmas albeit by a different publisher with a different cover. Do not be fooled
Bilder i den här recensionen
Kundbild
Kundbild
13 människor tyckte detta var till hjälp
Rapportera missbruk
G. Jones
3,0 av 5 stjärnor Not her “normal” offering
Granskad i Storbritannien den 21 januari 2020
Verifierat köp
9 människor tyckte detta var till hjälp
Rapportera missbruk